dabbling in diy

Snips

Here’s my collection of scissors. From left to right: fabric shears, embroidery scissors, applique scissors, pinking shears, thread snips, fabric shears.

The two sets of shears may seem a bit redundant, but I do find that depending on what I’m doing I’ll chose one or the other. The embroidery scissors are awesome for very detailed work, and that pair came with my embroidery machine. The applique scissors I also use a lot and it really does make a difference having that blunt blade on the back, I rarely have to worry about accidentally cutting through a layer of fabric that I don’t want to. I have used the pinking shears when working with fabrics that fray easily, like silk.

Leave a Reply

