dabbling in diy

Cross stitch digitizing

I was trying to figure out if I could digitize my own cross stitch designs. I created a blue decorative border using the free software Stitch Era Universal, but unfortunately it wasn’t stitching out very well and the thread kept breaking. Not being sure if it was something to do with my machine settings or thread, I tried out a built-in cross stitch design below in the same brand of thread. It stitched beautifully with no problems, so I gave up on that cross stitch digitizing method.

If anyone has any recommendations on some affordable software that does a good job digitizing cross stitch, I would love to hear about it!

Comments on: "Cross stitch digitizing" (2)

  1. HI Asploded,
    I have been digitizing with Embird for a few months now. I only have the digitizing and basic (not the cross-stitch or font engine- YET). I have been thrilled with how the basic digitizing module works and it is one of the least expensive programs. If you want more details, email me and I’ll send you a letter.

  2. Thanks for the suggestion! I have been looking at Embird, and I did download their free trial of the cross-stitch module. It was easy to create designs but I was disappointed that it didn’t let me try and stitch them out as I was curious about what the quality would be like.

    I am saving up to buy the basic, just have to make at least 3 more etsy sales!

Leave a Reply

