dabbling in diy

Image

When my friend R, who is in the middle of wedding planning madness, saw this Wrapped Wedding Candle tutorial over at Urban Threads and decided she wanted them for her wedding, she had no idea what she was in for.

When she asked me if we could make them with my embroidery machine and I replied “Of course!”, I had no idea what I was in for.

8 candles later (I think? I’ve lost track), I realize it was a full-on crash course in machine embroidery and it was very educational. As I purchased my embroidery machine online, and don’t know anyone who has one, I have basically been learning on my own as I go. Like anything else, the best way to learn is to jump right in, and this candle project was exactly that! So I am going to be compiling a list of Learnin’s to share in my next post. Stay tuned!

Comments on: "Día de Muertos epic candle adventure – Part 1" (2)

  1. […] promised, here is a list of learnings from the wrapped candle project. Dense designs with lots of stitches and intricate designs with lots of colors take a long time to […]

  2. […] not my style, I really didn’t own anything gold to wear. Enter the leftover gold thread from the candles and a freestanding lace Raven Mask from awesome Urban Threads and I was in […]

Leave a Reply

