dabbling in diy

Jelly roll quilt top

Ever since I came across these jelly roll quilt instructions a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been dying to give it a try. So last week-end, I picked up a couple of jelly rolls and after a couple of hours at my machine, I had this:

I had taken great care to arrange my strips to mix up the colors and patterns as I sewed them all end to end, but obviously it was all in vain as they all ended up grouped together.

I was hoping to get to quilt it up this week-end, but didn’t have any luck finding a backing fabric I liked at the fabric store I went to yesterday. Another shop is having a big sale later this week, so hopefully I will find something there. I’m going to give FMQ a try on this, so have been reading up on tutorials like this one at Oh, Fransson! and admiring designs at The Free Motion Quilting Project.

Comments on: "Jelly roll quilt top" (1)

  1. Cool idea! Your quilt looks great. I may be trying this soon, too. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

