dabbling in diy

oh, it’s may

things have been quiet here because i only just got back from australia and haven’t quite had a chance to get my life reorganized. my trip gave me the opportunity to finish my sock! i do however still have to bind it off. i did a loose bind off as directed in the knitty universal sock pattern, but unfortunately i still couldn’t get it over my heel. i do recall reading somewhere that there is another way to bind off that maintains the elasticity, so i’m going to have to try and find some instructions somewhere and do that when i get the chance.

i had a great time in australia! i’m working on sorting out all the pictures i took. and will probably post some eventually.

Comments on: "oh, it’s may" (2)

  1. I’m having a similar issue with socks I’m making. I’ve tried binding off with a needle two sizes up and LOOSELY. I’ve tried the crocheted bind off with a MUCH bigger hook. I can get them over my heel, but they nearly cut the circulation off my ankle.

    If you find a better method, please pass it along 🙂

  2. hi heather, i found a variety of methods listed at http://weebleknits.blogspot.com/2003/05/stretchy-bind-offs.html and tried the Elizabeth Zimmerman method described and it worked like a charm! hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

